The makeup artist who makes politicians camera-ready

Just in case you were wondering what I do for a living, here’s a look behind the curtain. I’ve written an article for Bottle Magazine and I couldn’t be happier about the way it turned out. 🙂

bottle magazine

I’ve led a double life for as long as I can remember: one foot planted firmly in what my parents like to call “the real world” and one foot out the door toward more creative pursuits. Today, I write code for the North Carolina Department of Transportation while holding down a successful side- hustle as a TV makeup artist. When you love something enough, you learn how to make it work for you. I’m proof of that.

I started my business in 1999 when I worked part-time for a small talent agency. Eventually, I took a position as an adjunct professor, teaching special effects makeup for a film & television production program. The work was sporadic as I built my portfolio. And then one day, the call came.

Elizabeth and John Edwards

CNBC asked me to do makeup for a show called “Pros & Cons.” The call came on a…

View original post 1,306 more words

Leave a Reply

