Don’t Be Like Dave

I think this audio-book habit is actually doing me quite a bit of good. I read funny stuff when I want to be entertained and I read motivational stuff when I need a little push toward getting my act together. I’d had “You Are A Badass” by Jen Sincero in my wish list for a little while now. I’d heard of it when it was advertised in my Target Cartwheel coupon app (which I thought was a strange way to advertise) but the title stuck in my head and since it was read by the author, I wanted to read it. I find that the books lack a certain something when they aren’t read by the person who poured years of their life into creating them.

The narrator sounds a lot like a friend of mine who I look up to. We went to high school together and I always thought she was a lot cooler than me. When we reconnected in later life she was dating, then married the lead-guitarist and my co-lead male vocalist in my band. Even though I know they aren’t the same person, as I listen to the narration, I picture Jennifer speaking to me and it’s kinda cool that way. Instant co-pilot!

I was deep into “The Urban Monk” by Pedram Shojai when Audible sent me the message that I was able to use my February credits, so I eagerly put that project on hold. Although that book has TONS of useful information, it was starting to make me feel bad about myself for eating gluten, not exercising enough, not connecting to the earth more, not finding time to meditate, watching too much TV, believing in Western Medicine… basically everything that just about everyone in the USA does. He brought up excellent points about how the way things were processed now and the overuse of chemicals & pesticides were the main contributors to the rise of Autism & gluten sensitivities. I get it. I get the whole living simpler thing… but BABY STEPS MAN! Going through that book was like reading the gourmet cookbook with all the ingredients you’ve never heard of utilizing pans you don’t even own, instead of the normal one with ingredients readily available at any store utilizing pans you already own.

So I switched up my cookbook.

It didn’t even strike me that the book I was reading to de-stress and simplify was actually stressing me out until I was lying on the massage table the other night. My masseur usually has no problem getting me to relax, but this time I could feel that I wasn’t exhaling normally. My muscles were tense. I really had to concentrate to breathe and relax my muscles. It wasn’t until the end of the session that I actually felt like I’d relaxed enough. And then I had to rush home to make a huge batch of chocolate-covered strawberries. I’d originally conspired with my boss to make them as a Valentine gift for his wife, but when Bryan asked if I had plans, I told him to bring a container for his girlfriend and come assist (knowing full-well that I would be doing all the work and he would simply be collecting strawberries at the end) He offered to bring me dinner in exchange, but forgot, so I made another batch of strawberries after he left, ate 2 and went to bed. Par for the course.

The next day I started “You are a Badass.” It’s pretty much the culmination of every useful mantra I’ve wanted to remember since day 1 all outlined into tidy bullet points. Each chapter begins with a quote. She discusses the pitfalls of comparison and how you should never compare yourself to others, which is total common sense. Everyone says it, even if they don’t practice it themselves. It made me think of Dave Mustaine. One of my favorite parts of “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck” by Mark Manson was the chapter where he recounts the story of Dave getting kicked out of Metallica, then going on to form Megadeth, but he’s still so bitter from being kicked out of Metallica and watching their meteoric rise to fame that even though his own band is enjoying success in their own right, he can’t appreciate it because he’s so consumed with spending his entire existence trying to keep up with Metallica. That’s like not being able to appreciate peanut butter because it isn’t chocolate.

She talks about mastering your inner dialogue and how you take in, filter and use the information you’re given in any situation. She talks about how so many people let fear control their decisions. And how it’s scary to be uncomfortable, but that it’s a necessary part of growth and change.

I want to read this over and over and take notes. I want to make a vision board. (Of course, in the current state of my house, I have no idea where this board would actually fit, but I’ll figure it out.) I’m liking where this is going.

Leave a Reply

